Resources

Favorite Resources

everything about web* http://www.everythingaboutweb.com
Smashing Magazine http://www.smashingmagazine.com
.net Magazine http://www.netmagazine.com/
A List Apart www.alistapart.com
Webdesigner Depot http://www.webdesignerdepot.com
Web Designer Wall http://www.webdesignerwall.com
Net tuts http://nettuts.com
SitePoint http://www.sitepoint.com
Treehouse http://teamtreehouse.com
lynda.com http://www.lynda.com
A Student’s Guide to Web Design http://www.studentguidewebdesign.com
AIGA/Aquent Salary Survey http://www.aiga.org/salary-survey/

Cheat Sheets

CSS Cheat Sheet: http://lesliefranke.com/files/reference/csscheatsheet.html
HTML Cheat Sheet: http://lesliefranke.com/files/reference/htmlcheatsheet.html
HTML5 Cheat Sheet: http://www.inmotionhosting.com/infographics/html5-cheat-sheet/

Text Editors & Code Editors

TextWrangler: http://www.barebones.com/products/textwrangler/
Sublime Text: http://www.sublimetext.com/2
Coda: http://panic.com/coda/
TextMate: http://macromates.com/

FTP Programs (File Transfer Protocol)

Cyberduck: http://cyberduck.ch/
Fetch: http://fetchsoftworks.com/fetch/download/

Developer Tools

Web Developer Toolbar: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/web-developer/
Firebug: http://getfirebug.com
Palette Grabber: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/palette-grabber/
ColorZilla: http://www.colorzilla.com/firefox/
JPEG overlay in browser: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/pixel-perfect/

Type Tools

Typecast: http://beta.typecastapp.com/
Typetester: http://www.typetester.org/
Font Squirrel: http://www.fontsquirrel.com/
Google Fonts: http://www.google.com/webfonts/
Cufon: http://www.everythingaboutweb.com/build/embedding-font-using-cufon/

Placeholder Text and Images

http://www.lipsum.com/
http://html-ipsum.com/
http://www.fillerati.com/
http://www.placehold.it/
http://lorempixel.com/

On Browser Sizes & Responsive Development

http://browsersize.googlelabs.com/

HTML 5

http://www.html5rocks.com/en/
http://html5boilerplate.com/

CSS

Ideas for better CSS Coding: http://coding.smashingmagazine.com/2007/05/10/70-expert-ideas-for-better-css-coding/
Learn HTML & CSS: http://learn.shayhowe.com/html-css/

CSS3

CSS3 Click Chart: http://css3clickchart.com/#box-sizing

jQuery Plugins

10 Resources for jQuery Plug-ins: http://www.pontikis.net/blog/top-10-resources-for-jquery-plugins

Layout

All About Floats: http://css-tricks.com/795-all-about-floats/
Learn Layout: http://learnlayout.com/

Responsive Web Design (RWD)

Responsive Web Design Resources for Beginners:
http://www.jannahagan.com/2012/05/responsive-web-design-resources-for-absolute-beginners/
Responsive Web Design by Ethan Marcotte:
http://www.abookapart.com/products/responsive-web-design
Top Responsive Web Design Tools:
http://mashable.com/2013/03/18/web-design-tools/
HTML5 Two Column Responsive:
http://www.onextrapixel.com/2011/09/12/create-a-responsive-web-design-template/

Social Media

Twitter for Beginners:  http://mashable.com/2012/06/05/twitter-for-beginners/
Simple Icons: http://simpleicons.org/

User Experience (UX)

http://www.uxapprentice.com/

Color

http://www.pictaculous.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *